“If you are go…

“If you are going to be used by God, he will take you through a multitude of experiences that are not meant for you at all, they are meant to make you useful in his hands, and to enable you to understand what transpires in other souls so that you will never be surprised at what you come across.” – Oswald Chambers

I saw this quote today in the “comments” section of a blog I was reading (from a favorite blogger: http://lisajobaker.com/), and this has inspired this current blog entry today.

Lisa Jo was discussing pain, letting yourself FEEL pain sometimes, and how God allows pain in our lives (she lost her mom when she turned 18)… but that He always, always uses that pain for His good… to help others someday, or to be able to empathize with others in similar situations.

I’ve been learning a lot this past year about dealing with negative emotions.  I am GREAT at burying them, denying them, stuffing them… all to my own detriment (self sabotage).  I’ve learned that it’s not wise to just go about your business/busy-ness, stuffing the negative feelings/memories down with food, another person, shopping, alcohol, or whatever your “drug of choice” may be. 

Best to get them out… in writing (journaling for your eyes only perhaps), talking with a trusted friend, counseling, exercise, prayer, whatever helps.

When you try to push the pain out, it just comes back even more so… as in pulling weeds, if you don’t get to the root, the weeds keep multiplying and growing back like crazy.  Think of kudzu… a wild weed that can take over an area and is very hard to control. The roots/pain/memories must be dealt with if you want to thrive and be FREE!

Here’s a poem I want to share, given to me by someone who has helped me process through a lot of “junk” (thank you, Kay!).  She has taught me to FEEL, and that IT IS OKAY TO FEEL!  I don’t have to always put on a “happy face” for others or only let myself feel happy feelings.  I can BE REAL.  (After all, can’t you always tell when someone is putting on a front? I can.)  

“THE GUEST HOUSE” – by Rumi 

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.
A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.
Welcome and entertain them ALL!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.
The dark thought, the shame, the malice.
Meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.
Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

(To me personally, that “guide” means the Holy Spirit, who wants me to deal with my junk so I can be free and healthy!) 

Parting words… taken straight from Lisa Jo’s blog entry today:

We all have grown up and become more chipped and cracked along the way. Bits of what we believed or loved cracked off rough shod and thoughtless. And there are holes that no person or putty or promise or chocolate cake can fill. There are some holes that become part of us just like that cowlick that won’t ever lie down and behave or the scar on your left leg from the time you were tripped and fell at your best friend’s house right in front of the boy you were trying to impress.

I see your scars.

I see those hot throbbing lines you try to hide or disguise or ignore.

But they’re all part of you. It’s OK that they ache. It’s OK that they make you feel the feelings you wish you could box away. They are as much you as your eye color and I love looking right into your eyes.

Go ahead, tell me your story. Show me your box. I am not afraid of scars.”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““If you are go…

  1. Sharon…I love your blog! I believe God is rising up His daughters to speak truth & clear the junk so we can carry out the call He’s put on our lives. Keep up this outstanding work friend-God’s clearly speaking through you. Love you! Laura Mangin McDonald

    • Wow, Laura… I am humbled, coming from you. Love your written words so much; they are always SUCH an inspiration and always hit me right where I need it. You are truly speaking God’s words. Thank you so much! Love you too.

Leave a Reply

