“And he said un…

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” – 2 Corinthians 12:9

This is the theme of my blog, for now, and I will see how it develops from here.  I’m a wife to a wonderful husband (21 years and counting), mom to a thoughtful, athletic 15 year old son, and to an outgoing, happy 11 year old daughter.  They are the joys and loves of my life.  I’m also mom to an elderly, but beloved Boston Terrier, Oscar.  

I’ve been learning so much this past year… must be something about the mid-40s, or just where I am in life right now… but I am learning to be REAL, and to let go of that horrible disease of perfectionism and control… it is crippling.  I am attracted to friends who are also learning to do this “REAL” thing: being who God created us to be; admitting our weaknesses to one another, so that we can relate better and more honestly, without facades; being more likable perhaps, as a result of not trying to appear like we have it all together and not needing to prove our worth to anyone else; knowing our worth in God’s eyes, as precious and beloved children of God, who makes us strong in our weaknesses; learning to say “no” and not be people-pleasers (another crippling disease I’ve had most of my life), but to do what is best for your own soul and sanity and family and self… being GOD-pleasers rather than MAN-pleasers.  (Great book on that, by the way, that I HIGHLY recommend: “When People are Big and God is Small, Overcoming Peer Pressure, Codependency, and the Fear of Man,” by Edward T. Welch)

That’s a short synopsis of what I hope to convey more about as I learn and grow, imperfectly.  I am happy to have a writing outlet as well, because I was always told I had a “gift for writing” and I have a creative side to me, that has been stifled by, yet again, that dreaded perfectionism (fear of trying something and failing if it’s not perfect, so just not even trying).  Hoping this will feed my soul, and maybe someone else will get something out of it occasionally too.  If anything I have learned, or am learning, along the way can help someone else, then I’m all for it.  I’m gonna turn my “mess into a message”… 

 

6 thoughts on ““And he said un…

  1. This is awesome! Thank you for sharing truth and encouragement! You definitely have a gift to write, and so much wisdom to impart. Can’t wait til the next message. Life changing!

Leave a Reply

